AL ASAYL / News & Events

Seraphin wins President's Cup

(By M.Satya Narayan, Chief Sports Reporter ,Published: Feb 07, 2011) Abu Dhabi: Seraphin Du Paon won the Dh1 million The President of the UAE Cup (Group 1) for the President His Highness Shaikh Khalifa Bin Zayed Al Nahyan as one of the largest crowds witnessed a festival-like meeting at the Abu Dhabi Equestrian Club last night.
Trained by Philippe Barbe, the The President-owned five-year-old chestnut horse, who lost the Prep race for this event by a short head to Vite Royale over the same 11-furlong distance last month, made no mistake this time. With last year's winner Jarnin, 2009 winner Nirwan and 2008 winner Dynamite along with strong contender Shadiyda in the startling line-up, Seraphin Du Paon, under Olivier Peslier, looked in a class of his own once he headed for home. The Barbe-trained winner clocked 2:29.02 seconds and finished ahead of Gillian Duffield's Rabah De Carrere with Eric Lemartinel's Nieshan in third place. It was Peslier's first appearance here in Abu Dhabi and the French veteran showed his class as Dr. Shaikh Sultan Bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Chairman of the Emirates Equestrian Federation, and a group of top officials from Etihad Airways attended the night's meeting. Targets Classic Seraphin wins President's Cup Barbe, who is the trainer at Al Asayl Stables, hailed his winner and said: "He is a good horse and I think now we will take him for the big race, the Kahayla Classic. We may not run him before that." Barbe also said that Fryvolous, a former Kahayla Classic winner, will also run in the Dubai World Cup night's feature race for Purebred Arabians. "Before that Fryvolous will run in a seven-furlong race," Barbe said. Peslier expressed delight with his debut win here in Abu Dhabi. "This is my first race here and I am really very happy. The atmosphere here is great and the fans have been very encouraging. The trainer had prepared the horse well and it was a good opportunity for me to come here and win," said Peslier. Earlier one of the largest crowd packed the Abu Dhabi Equestrian Club stands and this year's the President's Cup was accompanied by a large ‘family zone' with a festive atmosphere. Results The President of the UAE Cup (Group 1), Dh 1million, 11F Turf: 1. Seraphin Du Paon (Philippe Barb) Olivier Peslier; 2. Rabah De Carrere (Gillian Duffield) Kieren Fallon; 3. Nieshan (Eric Lemartinel) Adrie De Vries. Seraphin wins President's Cup Time: 2:29.02; Distance: 3.25L, 0.25L.